Awesome Homemade Chocolate Hazelnut Spread Recipe!


Anyone else here LOVE Nutella?

I do. But I also like to try and make my own versions of things I like. Sadly, as active an imagination as I have, I’m not the most creative when cooking food. If you’ve seen the recipes I’ve shared in the past that are of my own making, you’ll see that they aren’t very imaginative.

So I googled for a good chocolate-hazelnut spread recipe, and found this one.

Unfortunately, I don’t have pics of what I made at the moment. Since I first made this about a week ago for a small party with a friend’s food processor, I wasn’t thinking about taking pictures. However, next time I make this (which will be as soon as I get my hands on my own processor), I promise to take pictures.

Below the fold are my thoughts, the recipe, and the nutrition facts.

As the title suggests, this is awesome. It doesn’t look like Nutella, but to be entirely honest, I much prefer it to Nutella. I just think it tastes better. But you’ll have to tell me (or maybe go and tell Michelle of Brown-Eyed Baker) what you think.

Here’s her recipe:

Yield: 1½ cups

Prep Time: 15 minutes

Cook Time: 15 minutes

Total Time: 30 minutes

A homemade Nutella spread, full of roasted hazelnuts and a rich chocolate flavor.

Ingredients:

2 cups (8 ounces) hazelnuts
1 cup powdered sugar
⅓ cup Dutch-processed cocoa powder
2 tablespoons hazelnut oil
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
⅛ teaspoon salt

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Spread the hazelnuts out on a single layer on a rimmed baking sheet and roast until dark brown and fragrant, 12 to 15 minutes, rotating the baking sheet halfway through baking. Keep a close eye on them, as they can go from perfect roasted to burnt in a short amount of time. Transfer the hazelnuts to a medium-sized bowl.

2. Once the hazelnuts are cool enough to handle, place a second bowl upside-down on top of the bowl with the hazelnuts. Shake vigorously for about 30 seconds to remove the skins of the hazelnuts. It may take a few times to get all of the skins off; each time, remove the hazelnuts that have lost their skin to the bowl of a food processor, then continue shaking.

3. Process the hazelnuts in a food processor until their oil is released and they form a smooth, loose paste, 2 to 5 minutes, scraping down the bowl often.

4. Add the powdered sugar, cocoa powder, hazelnut oil, vanilla extract and salt and process until fully incorporated, scraping the bowl as needed, about 2 minutes. The mixture will loosen and become glossy. Transfer the spread to a jar with a tight-fitting lid or an airtight container. You can store it in the refrigerator or at room temperature for up to 1 month.

Notes:

  • If you want to do away with having to remove the hazelnut skins, you could purchase blanched hazelnuts, which I might try next time.
  • I was not able to find hazelnut oil at any local grocery stores (including Whole Foods), so I ended up ordering it from Nuts.com. You could substitute walnut oil or vegetable oil, but the hazelnut oil really helps give the spread a silky smooth texture.
  • You can substitute regular unsweetened cocoa powder for the Dutch-processed cocoa powder.

(Recipe adapted from The America’s Test Kitchen DIY Cookbook)

The yield is 1.5 cups (24 tablespoons). I decided that 1 tablespoon would be a good serving size since either 1 or 2 tablespoons is the usual serving size of different butters and spreads. And here are the nutrition facts for 1 tablespoon of the spread set up in a convenient label format (click for larger size):

Brown-Eyed Cook's Homemade Chocolate Hazelnut Spread Nutrition Label

These nutrition facts, BTW, assume you used unblanched/raw/with-shell hazelnuts, alkali-processed Dutch cocoa powder, real vanilla extract (as opposed to imitation), pure hazelnut oil, and unsifted powdered sugar.

I can generate nutrition facts with regular cocoa powder, blanched hazelnuts, imitation vanilla extract with or without alcohol, different oil, and/or sifted powdered sugar, but I don’t have time without requests. Let me know about any changes you’d make to the recipe (like using blanched hazelnuts… I could even include flavors if you want to give it a shot with, like, a chocolate liquor or something), and I’ll try to get you the nutritional facts for it.

And BTW… you’ll notice it’s dairy-free! This makes me excited since I don’t like my chocolate having milk or cream or any form of dairy in it. Sugar’s fine… dairy, not so much…

Oh… and the food score is 0.6 for a tablespoon, if that means anything to anyone.

I get this nutritional information, BTW, from an app called MyNetDiary, which I’ve used as a method to go from 230 lbs to 175 lbs in 7 months and 19 days (starting on June 30, 2012; I first reached 175 on March 18, 2013). I’ve been using it ever since as a maintenance program to keep me at or around 175, since I gain weight very easily. It’s a program based on counting calories, since that (cutting down the amount of calories I ate) was what I found was the easiest way for me personally to lose weight.

When I have to load ingredients into MyNetDiary, I use SELFNutrition Data and the USDA’s National Nutrient Database.

The label itself was generated using this generator.

About Nathan Hevenstone

I hate straight, white, cis-gendered, able-bodied men. I also play guitar and sing, and I'm an atheist and anti-theist. What now?
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Did you read the post and all the comments?

