Actually, I’m Very Happy, Thanks


So I’ve been participating in the comments of a blog post by BJ called “An Open Letter To Those Who Doubt or Deny God“.

Recently, a Christian named Marc responded to one of my posts. So I responded. Then he responded back with this. To someone who’s managed (usually by accident, though sometimes on purpose) to get into arguments with theists before, this type of condescension is incredibly, and depressingly, familiar. Marc decides to psychoanalyze my life and conclude that I must be very unhappy.

This should be familiar to probably all atheists reading.

Nathan….
Thank you for the response. But you never have provided any proof of more than one God.

Um… when was I supposed to? I don’t need to provide proof of the existence of more than one god, because I don’t believe in any gods. However, if you really don’t believe that we humans have imagined the existence of thousands of god… I really don’t know what to say to you. Maybe take a History of Religion course or a Mythology course or something?

I do believe in the existence of human imagination, so… yeah…

Your variance of using the Goddess of Greek mythology is nice, but it is no more evidence that she was not the same God that Christians worship only through the eyes of someone that saw her rather than him. How do you know that whoever saw the Greek Goddess for the first time was not seeing an angel sent from the one true God?

Who is your “One True God”? Is this the same god who said that a man who has sex with a man should be killed (Leviticus 20:13)? Is this the same god who prescribed death for people who work on the Sabbath (Exodus 31:14-15, Exodus 35:2, Numbers 15:32-36)? Is this the same god who explained how to sell your daughter, and what to do to her if she fails to please her new master (Exodus 21:7-8)?

In other words… are you a Christian?

I just want to get this cleared up…

You don’t. You are making more assumptions and trying to cloak those assumptions in intellectual verbage and pass them off as proof. But that is no more prooof than an author telling you that Gulliver made many voyages around a strange new world and that being a fact. Just becuase you say it, that does not make it a fact. I still ask my same question, how do YOU know that thousands of God’s exist?

I don’t know that thousands of gods exist. I know that, throughout history, human beings have imagined thousands of gods. Bit of a difference.

I would think that someone with such a fervent view that God does not exist would not spend this much effort on saying that thousands do exist.

Except I’m not. I’m saying that human beings have imagined thousands of god, which is very different from saying that thousands of gods exist.

But more importantly you need ot be educated and I will do my best to help with that. Until we talk again. “Taste and see that the Lord is good, blessed is the man who takes refuge in Him.” ~ Psalm 34:8

First off, I do not appreciate the insult (and intent is not magic, so I really don’t care what your intention was) implied by your statement that I “need to be educated”. Second, if you think quoting a bible verse at me is going to mean anything to me, you’ve obviously never actually talked to an atheist before.

That’s a bit like if I decided to quote AC Grayling’s “The Good Book” to you… it’d have about the same amount of meaning…

You obviously live a very unhappy existence and want to share your misery with those that are very content and happy with their beliefs in their chosen God (no matter which one it is).

I’m sorry, but who the hell do you think you are to tell me whether or not I’m happy? I’m actually extremely excited for my future.

I’m studying Cultural Anthropology, Evolutionary Biology, and Primatology. I’m very interested in understanding where Fanaticism comes from. I’m also minoring in Commercial Music. I play guitar, write music, and sing, and I’m trying to get recorded right now. My future looks pretty awesome, thanks.

It’s true that I’m a naturally stressed out person, but I’m happy, okay? You don’t get to decide that for me and screw you very much for it.

Why would someone want to do that? You obviously do not have a relationship that will last you beyond this life.

Since there is nothing beyond this life…

So you are miserable in this life.

Nope. But thanks for being a condescending ass…

That is so sad. If you are right and this is it, then you are missing out my friend.

I’m not missing out on anything.

I am perfectly happy with my life. I know that God exists. I spoke to God and heard His voice clearly speak back to me.

Um… you may want to see a psychiatrist about that. Hearing voices is not a good sign.

(If you found that insulting, now you how I feel about your need to judge whether or not I’m happy.)

This is not worth finishing. You are a condescending ass. You are an example of why I’m an antitheist. You sit there thinking you’ve scored some point against an “evil atheist” when all you’ve done is proven yourself to be narcissistic and possibly slightly delusional. I don’t care that you believe in god or feel all high and mighty or whatever, but you talk to me like I’m a 5 year boy crying for something he can’t have, when I’m 26 years old, in school, living on my own, and working. I’m a political activist for Progressive causes, I listen to Citizen Radio, Led Zeppelin is the greatest band ever, I watch Doctor Who, I write music, I have ideas for stories that would make amazing movies and TV shows if I could find someone to write them, and I’m fascinated by the Universe and Theoretical Physics and Cosmology and the Theory of Everything.

You have no right to judge me, nor do you have any information about who I am in order to judge me.

I don’t know who you think you are, but you are not fit to judge me. I suggest you keep that in that the next time you come across an atheist, because you do not know that person.

Christians one and all, now hear me:

You are NOT better than everybody else. You are NOT living on some higher plane, looking down on the rest of the world. The fact that you are a Christian means NOTHING in this world to anyone but YOU. Got it? Don’t you dare assume that non-Christians are unhappy. It is not for you decide these things and you do this, you only make yourself look evil. Keep that in my the next time you feel the need to be condescending towards an atheist, because your words are only saying things about you… unflattering things.

About Nathan Hevenstone

I hate straight, white, cis-gendered, able-bodied men. I also play guitar and sing, and I'm an atheist and anti-theist. What now?
This entry was posted in Agnosticism, Atheism, Bullying, Christianity, Cynicism, Religion, Science, Secularism, Skepticism and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Actually, I’m Very Happy, Thanks

  1. Wait, because someone is 26 they can’t be an Atheist, even if that’s how they self-identify? How old do they have to be to become an ageist at least?

  2. knace says:

    Hi Nathan. I am new to following your blog. The reason I am following it is because yesterday BJ liked a post I had written. I was excited because nobody likes my posts =) so I wanted to know who this person with such obvious good taste was. As soon as I went to his blog I thought. Ohhhh, OK. I get it. I couldn’t help wonder how BJ had figured out from my post that I was in need of his religious guidance, but somehow he just did- Oh, wait, I bet he would say God led him to me. Whatever. So, I read his post and was so impressed by your response I didn’t bother responding to BJ, because I thought you had already covered it nicely. Then I came over to your blog.

    I was arguing with my mother in law once (She is a true believer) I told her had she been born and raised in Saudi Arabia, she would a devout Muslim and be just as confident the rest of us non believers are going to hell. She denied it. I just don’t understand how religious people can’t see this!!

    I’m not a true atheist. I know Richard Dawkins thinks someday we’ll figure it all out, but I’m not that optimistic. I think we as humans have evolved to perceive certain things and like the fish in my aquarium can’t understand the movie playing on the TV in the room across form him (even though he might be the smartest fish ever) I don’t think humans will ever be able to understand everything in the universe. I think the best I can do is to treat all life with kindness and respect ( even religious zealots haha)- which I repeatedly fail at!. Everything else, just conjecture.

    One more thing and then I will shut up. True story: My son came home one day from school (public high school) and said they had a prayer circle in ironically, his honors Biology class. I asked him if he had participated and he laughed and said no. The only people who declined were him and another Indian student. So, the class made the prayer circle around them. !!! I was very proud of him because I know as a teenager I would have just did what everyone else was doing. I asked what they were praying about and said “They felt they needed divine guidance with the EOGs”
    What especially irritates me about this is Christians are always posting things on FB about how persecuted they are blah blah blah. REally? Apparently not in my town where this kind of thing happens in a public school.

    Anyway, keep posting! The world needs more voices of sanity. I promise next time I won’t be so long winded!
    ~K

    • Heh… thanks!

      Just so you know… the only requirement to being a “true atheist” is that you not believe in a higher power or powers. That’s about it. Knowledge, activism, etc are not requirements. 🙂

  3. Marc Sanford says:

    Where to begin….
    Nathan, my young niave friend. You are all of 26 years young. You have so much to learn in life, as we all do. You are not an atheist. You are just a lost anger young man that thinks that because he has gotten away from his parents that now he is a “man”. And a scholar as well. But as is proven in the fact that your original statments were shot down over and over because of their lack of any merit whatsoever and the fact that you never responded to any of those statements just proves that you were wrong and just like a 5 year old, when someone proves you wrong you move on to you next “right” argument. You have found a gift of taking my statments and pointing out that I was judging you and using your rebuttle to look in the mirror and judge me on a personal level time and time again. Which means that I struck a nerve.
    But once again you have not given anything more than one 26 year kids “opinion” of God that does not exist. And I would respecfully ask that if you do not want me to use words from a bible that represents a God that you do not acknowledge, that you do not use words from that same Old Testament bible to suit your arguments. In fact, I should give you many more bible verses to continue to educate you. You are a bit obtuse in your thought process. But you being under the care of educated professors perhaps you will learn how to debate rather than argue a point. And even more importantly end said debate when you have no more points that are verifiable and logical. Just saying that things are a certain way because you say so, is the arguement of a 5 year old. And as someone that has been a Professor of Religion, Theology, History of World Religion, and done numerous studies on Buddhism, Christianity, Confucianism, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Taoism, and other religions and religious movements throughout history I feel qualified to discuss all of the religious beliefs that you would like. You have simply chosen you path and I have chosen mine. Religion is about a relationship more than a belief. It is hurtful that you think that a Christian is the reason that you are an Atheist. Because the God that I worship is a God of peace and love.
    Philippians 1:2 Grace be to you, and peace, from God our Father, and from the Lord Jesus Christ.

    Numbers 6:26 The LORD lift up his countenance on you, and give you peace.

    Job 22:21 Acquaint now yourself with him, and be at peace: thereby good shall come to you.

    Job 34:29 When he gives quietness, who then can make trouble? and when he hides …

    Psalm 29:11 The LORD will give strength to his people; the LORD will bless his …

    Psalm 85:8 I will hear what God the LORD will speak: for he will speak peace …

    Isaiah 26:3,12 You will keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on you: …

    Isaiah 45:7 I form the light, and create darkness: I make peace, and create evil: …

    Isaiah 48:18 O that you had listened to my commandments! then had your peace been …

    Isaiah 48:22 There is no peace, said the LORD, to the wicked.

    Isaiah 55:11,12 So shall my word be that goes forth out of my mouth: it shall not …

    Isaiah 57:19-21 I create the fruit of the lips; Peace, peace to him that is far off, …

    Jeremiah 33:6 Behold, I will bring it health and cure, and I will cure them, and …

    Luke 1:79 To give light to them that sit in darkness and in the shadow of death, …

    Luke 2:14 Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, good will toward men.

    John 14:27 Peace I leave with you, my peace I give to you: not as the world …

    John 16:33 These things I have spoken to you, that in me you might have peace. …

    So you see my friend you are not an Atheist at all. You are just a lost soul . You may not be looking, but neither was I at 26. I was in jail locked up for the beating the guy that shot my brother nearly to death. That when I knew life had hit the bottom. I didn’t know my brother would live or die. The entire back of his head was blown off. But in jail that night I prayed for the first time in my like, “God please let my brother live this night. I will never strick a man out of anger again in my life and I will follow you and change my life. I waited for a response. Expecting some great thunderous roar. But what I got was a mans voice in my head. Very clearly, very distinct, clear, he said witha voice that commanded an audience “Okay”. That was it. No flashy stuff. But you know my brother survived being shot at point blank range in the back of the head. The doctors told us how the bullet had barely missed vital parts and it was a miracle that he survived but even more of a miracle that there was nothing wrong with him at all. So I know why I believe in God. And if that is crazy to you then that is your right. As for me and my family and the doctors that were there, we know.
    You will grow in life. You will likely foster your hatred for you preceptions that I think that I am better than you and therefore choose the path that you will go downto become a full fledged Atheist. I pray that won’t happen, but if it does I wish you the best of luck in the end. I am sorry if any of my comments offended you, that was not my intent. I just get a little pashionate about defending my religiom. And no I won’t become a suicide bomber for my religion.

Did you read the post and all the comments?

