I’m Lost. Please Help. (Monetary; Advice Needed; Urgent)


I really don’t know what I’m going to do. I’m freaking out quite a bit and have no idea where to go from here.

I’m currently attending Florida Atlantic University. I’m majoring in Anthropology and minoring in Commercial Music. The classes I’m taking this semester are The Anthropology of Nature, The Maya and their Neighbors, Music Marketing and Management (for my minor), and, because I need a language to graduate, Beginning Hebrew 1.

Because I’m living (as in, I have nowhere else to go) at the dorms in FAU, my bill for this semester is $14,312.48, which is high. It’s higher because I’m considered an out-of-state student. I applied for an in-state residency status change for this semester. It’s been denied. This is a major problem because I’m only getting $11,073.00 from financial. I do not have the credit (not even close) to get a loan for the missing $3,329.48, nor could I get a co-signer. Getting a loan is impossible.

I am terrified. I could drop a class, and that would remove $2,500 from my bill (or it would, if I hadn’t missed the drop/add date back on Friday, August 30… at this point, I’ll be penalized for dropping). But even with the $2,500 gone, I still need $739.48, and that’s not counting the money for AEPi.

I need the $3,329.48 within a week, and I don’t know what to do.

I’m studying Anthropology because I want to try and create a new understanding of Fanaticism through an Evolutionary/Primatological perspective. I think Fanaticism is so ubiquitous in humanity because it’s part of our evolutionary heritage. The thing is, FAU’s Anthropology undergrad major course is in Anthropology general, so I have to take classes in all the types of Anthropology.

Any information would be appreciated. Should I set up another Kiva thing (I still don’t have PayPal)? If I do, it’d have to be filled within a week. Is that even possible?

I’m shaking and scared and crying because I need this degree. Somebody please help.

Please.

About Nathan Hevenstone

I hate straight, white, cis-gendered, able-bodied men. I also play guitar and sing, and I'm an atheist and anti-theist. What now?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’m Lost. Please Help. (Monetary; Advice Needed; Urgent)

  1. Pingback: I’m Officially Freaking Out. I’m Desperate. (Money) | Atheism, Music, and More…

  2. Hey man, I got my first degree from FAU, so my advice is talk to a fin aid person about deferring payments and then get a job (I say this without know if you have one LOL, don’t take offense if you do). Boca is full of jobs (or at least it was when I was there), I’m not sure what you’ve worked in before, but if its an on-campus job that’s even better because it’ll save you on your gas. Also, never say never on short-term loans, cause its an option that gives you more time; talk to someone about it. It sounds like you’ve got a shit ton of classes, so balancing a job with that is gonna be hard but no impossible.
    Personally, I had this issue a lot – except I wasn’t out of state – and after living offcampus with a bunch of people (to have lower rent) I ended up spending the same amount of money due to additional expenses (also gas). I ended up applying to be an RA (resident assistant) because I couldn’t afford to pay for the dorms/food/classes with my budget. Obviously its a bit late to jump on that ship for this semester, but think about it for the next semester. They give a free meal plan, free housing and you get paid on top of that.
    Good luck bro.

  3. Is it too late to research other scholarships? There are some obscure ones out there…

  4. Avery says:

    Did you talk to your advisor? They may be able to help you. Also, you could talk to the Financial department (or whatever it’s called), they might be able to do something for you. Other than that, I have no idea how to raise nearly $3,500 in a week. I’m sorry.

  5. How many semesters do you have left?

Did you read the post and all the comments?

