Theoretical Physics, Spacetime, String Theory, Multiple Universe, and All That…


This is a schooling thread… that is, I’d like anyone who gets it to school me in it.

I’ve always like the idea of multiple universes.

My absolute favorite one is the idea of membranes. Giant branes that billow in 11(+)-dimensional space. Every once in a while, they clash. They energy given off in this clash can make universes. Although each membrane is finite in size and have a finite number of universes within them, there’s an infinite number of membranes, meaning an infinite number of universes.

To me, this would suggest that spacetime and energy (that is, space, time, matter, and energy) exist beyond the Big Bang. I honestly feel like these things have to be infinite in existence… that is, they always existed, and always will. Because how is action/movement/creation possible without them.

The way I’ve always understood spacetime, the concept of “outside spacetime” (something theists like to claim about their god) is impossible because you need spacetime in order to define “outside” in the first place, so there can be no “outside spacetime”.

So first… I realize that this is a pathetically simplistic explanation… to the point of leaving out vital information that could actually potentially change the whole picture. In fact, it’s probably wrong.

Which is why I’m posting this blog.

Can someone explain it to me? Fill out what I described above… or explain how I’m wrong and make it right. I want to make sure that I actually get what fascinates me right, and I know I got this wrong.

Another thing… if spacetime and energy exist beyond the Big Bang, does that really mean the Big Bang theory (yes, I know that’s not the proper scientific name… actually… what is?) is wrong? Why? Why can’t the Big Bang be theory about the creation of our universe? Why does it have to be about the creation of spacetime?

And if energy cannot be created or destroyed, how can it have been “created” in the Big Bang?

Also… be aware that I’m fully aware of the Inflation theory of physicists like Alan Guth*. I’m including that when I say “Big Bang”… is that right, or are they two different theories?

Essentially, I’m wildly confused and really need help understanding this. My understanding isn’t just weak… it’s pathetically, embarrassingly sad.

Help me.

Please?

*Thanks for the correction, Rob Grigjanis. I’m gonna move back to the corner with my dunce cap, now…

😦

About Nathan Hevenstone

I hate straight, white, cis-gendered, able-bodied men. I also play guitar and sing, and I'm an atheist and anti-theist. What now?
This entry was posted in Astronomy, Cosmology, Education, Physics, Science, Theoretical Physics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Theoretical Physics, Spacetime, String Theory, Multiple Universe, and All That…

  1. Rob Grigjanis says:

    Nathan, when you say ‘Alan Gould’, do you mean Alan Guth? Guth has a fairly accessible and interesting account of inflation, including motivation, here:
    http://ned.ipac.caltech.edu/level5/Guth/Guth_contents.html

  2. rw23 says:

    And if energy cannot be created or destroyed, how can it have been “created” in the Big Bang?

    Not as much created as borrowed, which is allowed by quantum theory as per the constant creation and annihilation of virtual particles — our universe just happens to be taking a long time to annihilate (potentially an infinite amount of time), because it has an extremely low overall energy. The net sum energy in the universe is believed to be zero: matter has positive energy, which is cancelled out by the negative energy of gravity.

    Also… be aware that I’m fully aware of the Inflation theory of physicists like Alan Gould. I’m including that when I say “Big Bang”… is that right, or are they two different theories?

    Inflation arises from the Big Bang, so they are different in the sense that they describe different phenomena; they’re not competing explanations for the same thing. I still have trouble wrapping my head around inflation so I’m not going to attempt to offer an actual explanation here. For the same reason I can’t yet suggest good reference material, but that’s just me.

    If you want to learn about branes and M-Theory, I’d suggest you read Lisa Randall’s ‘Warped Passages’. It isn’t easy going in places, but it’s as good as anything out there. I certainly need to re-read it again, and hope that something else sticks this time…

Did you read the post and all the comments?

