What Atheism Lacks: Humility, Imagination, Curiosity



WHAT?!?

“What Atheism Lacks: Humility”

*I* lack humility? I, who dare claim to NOT KNOW. I, who dare claim that there are still hundreds of millions of questions that wait to be answered. I, who dare insist that we humans are NOT the center of this universe, that we are NOT special, that the only purpose we have is the one each of us gives ourselves.

*I* lack humility?

Compared to… what, exactly? “The entire universe was created especially for us human beings to be in commune with a personal deity that takes care of all our needs, answers all our prayers, and micromanages our daily lives”?

I think you lack a basic understanding of what humility is, Rabbi.

“Imagination”

When you live under the assumption that no higher powers exist, imagination is how you recreate your world. My imagination is a driving force in my life (of course, I can tell the different between imagination and reality).

“Curiosity”

Science. Ever heard of it? I, for one, am *more* curious since realizing I was an atheist. Curious about the origin of life. Curious about the origin of our galaxy. Curious about the origin of existence itself. Curiosity is what drives me.

What drives you?
Read the Article at HuffingtonPost

About Nathan Hevenstone

I hate straight, white, cis-gendered, able-bodied men. I also play guitar and sing, and I'm an atheist and anti-theist. What now?
This entry was posted in Atheism, Religion, Science and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Atheism Lacks: Humility, Imagination, Curiosity

  1. Contamine says:

    The idea that you lack humility (tho not specifically you, all of us humans, really) is connected to the fact you are “Curious about the origin of life. Curious about the origin of our galaxy. Curious about the origin of existence itself.” because implicit in that is the idea that you are actually capable of understanding those things. ‘Vanity of vanities’, as they say….

    • But why aren’t we capable of understanding those things? We understand the origin of the diversity of species (and thus the origin of the human species), we understand the origin of our solar system, and we’re even slowly gaining an understanding of where our galaxy came from. I don’t think suggesting that these are things we’re capable of understanding is incompatible with humility. In fact, I would argue that it simply reinforces our humility, because it shows just how small we are in the grand scheme of the Cosmos… “Pale Blue Dot” and all…

Did you read the post and all the comments?

