Conversation with Joseph Zhang Open Thread


This is the open thread for my conversation with Joseph Zhang. This is where discussion of the conversation can happen.

Please note… this blog is not normally open to 101 discussions. It is meant to be a safe space for victims and feminists and their allies. This thread, “I Do Not Understand You MRAs” and my discussion with Joseph Zhang are the only places on my blog where these 101 discussions can take place. If you take them to any other post on my blog, you will be banned, regardless of your position on these matters. This does mean that I will ban my allies for breaking this rule, as well as those who support Joseph’s side.

So don’t try to take it anywhere else.

Beyond that, the only other rule is “Be Respectful”. Since these three posts are all about 101 discussion, please treat them as such. JAQing off is allowed here, as long as it’s not in bad faith.

Discussion may commence…

About Nathan Hevenstone

I hate straight, white, cis-gendered, able-bodied men.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Conversation with Joseph Zhang Open Thread

  1. Thetar says:

    Hello Nate, we can continue here, if that is better for you.

  2. Morgan Stanfield says:

    Nathan, I really appreciated your post! Heidi G. turned me onto it at Feminist Pinners, and then I added it to one of our group “debate prep” files as a reference to use when discussing feminism with MRAs and other anti-feminists. I really appreciate that you point out that many MRAs seem to advocate only for the benefit and liberation of men, while feminism advocates explicitly for everyone who suffers from gender-based oppression (and/or racism, classicism, sizeism, etc., if you’re our kind of feminist). I was disappointed to see that Mr. Zhang hasn’t responded, because I very much think your questions deserve answers. Thanks for doing the good work!

  3. Heidi G says:

    I have shared your Conversation post on the Feminist Pinners Facebook group wall as there has been discussion about MRA there recently.
    Also of note: I AM Canadian, and a feminist. We are strong in our stance, but mostly what we seem to be fighting is the MRA and/or religious patriarchy winds blowing up from our southern neighbors. There is still a LOT of work to do up here, and it may just be the fact that we are a more liberal country, and a smaller one, but there are fewer huge battles on a regular basis.

  4. Pingback: Conversation with Joseph Zhang | Atheism, Music, and More…

Did you read the post and all the comments?

